Benefits of self-induced poverty

For the last two weeks, I’ve cut down seriously on the groceries I buy and focused on getting rid of my remaining stock: mostly beans and pasta. On weeknights I usually come home and make something familiar, but being forced to find a new way to use kidney beans helped me find a ton of great new recipes, and ways that make basic, cheap ingredients like beans and rice uber delicious. Good practice for having minimal income in France.

On top of the black bean burgers I made earlier, I also made a Turkish lentil salad, mascarpone risotto and a kidney bean curry with nothing more than veggies, beans and spices (photo above). It was zesty sweet, and tasty!

Today I cleaned out my freezer and some of my baking supplies by making cornbread muffins and whole wheat honey banana muffins. I may or may not have eaten five total between lunch and dinner. Fats Mcgee.

Clean Out Your Freezer Muffins (adapted slighlty from here)

3 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 c unsweetened applesauce
1/4 c canola oil
1/2 c honey
1/2 c brown sugar
4 eggs
2 c of bananas you’ve had frozen for months. Don’t drain. Mush.
1/4 to 1/2 c chopped walnuts
1/2 c hot water

–Stir together dry ingredients in a smaller bowl.
–Whisk applesauce, oil and honey together in a large bowl. Add eggs; blend well.
–Add bananas, whisk til blended.
–Add dry ingredients to wet alternating with hot water. Whisk after each addition. Add walnuts and stir.
–Scoop batter into 24 muffin cups, bake at 325 degrees for 15 minutes.

These are soft and tasty plain, but leftover mascarpone tastes pretty damn good on them too.

2 responses to “Benefits of self-induced poverty

  1. Project Life on the Fringe of Society

    How much USD per week did you find yourself spending on food during your period of self-induced poverty? Same question for your stay in France.

    • Hm, good question. I wouldn’t say more than 15-20, but of course I already had a lot of leftovers from earlier purchases!

Leave a Reply

