The Black Bean Burger Hunt

I love black beans. In my mind, I can make amazing burger creations out of them, but in practice (and we’re talking LOTS of practice), I feel like Goldilocks. They fall apart or they’re like a bread block. They’re too bland or they’re cumin city. They’re too chunky or too mealy.

I found a recipe today that has a lot of potential. I replaced the jalapenos and red pepper with partially-seeded banana peppers because I have a bunch, and they had a nice kick without overwhelming the burger.

As you can see, they still fell apart a little bit, but they were so tasty that I think it’s worth another try. Next go around I’ll see what happens when I add an egg. For the moment, I consider this great success.

Spicy Black Bean Burgers (serves 6, modified from here)

1/2 cup flour
1 small onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
3 banana peppers (one seeded), minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 cups canned black beans, mashed
1/2 cup corn kernels, I recommend fresh
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
1/4 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1.5 teaspoons chili powder
2 tablespoons parsley, minced (optional)

–On a small plate, set aside flour for coating. In a medium saucepan, sauté the onion, garlic, oregano, and hot peppers in oil on medium-high heat until the onions are translucent. Add the peppers and sauté another 2 minutes, until pepper is tender. Set aside.

–In a large bowl, mash the black beans with a potato masher or fork. Stir in the vegetables (including the corn), breadcrumbs, cumin, salt, chili powder, and parsley. Mix well. Divide and shape into 6 patties.

–Lay down each patty in flour, coating each side. Cook on a lightly oiled frying pan on medium-high heat for 5-10 minutes or until browned on both sides.

One response to “The Black Bean Burger Hunt

  1. Pingback: Benefits of self-induced poverty | Fresh Era

Leave a Reply

